All the World’s a Stage…Er… Classroom

A few days ago, I introduced you to Preschooler and asked for some helpwith letter and number recognition.  I got advice from a few sources, all of which pretty  much said the same thing.  Just keep at it.  Repetition, repetition, repetition.  So we are.

Then, over the last couple days, I discovered two new teaching aids in unusual places:

Parking garages

On a weekend errand, we parked at the far end of the underground parking garage, and as we were walking toward the entrance, Preschooler points to the column at the end of the row, and announces, “Look, Mama!  That’s an ‘M'”  And thus began the game.  We identified the letters on each row that we passed.  She was so excited by this, that we enthusiastically played it again after completing our time in the store.

The lottery

Preschooler watches Clifford on PBS every afternoon before naptime.  Immediately after the cartoon ends, the midday lottery comes on.  You know, the one where the balls pop around in the machine and then fly up the tubes to be announced by a lottery “official”?  You see where I’m going with this, right?  A few days ago, I realized this could work in our favor.  I mute the television (so that the answers aren’t given away, and she has some think time), and then we identify the numbers on the ball as they pop up.  Once again, she is ridiculously excited about this “game” and it takes an extra 2 minutes out of my day.

And you know what?  I think the kid is holding out on me.  She knows alot more than I thought she did.  She just likes to learn and share in her own way.

There’s a lesson for me there, too.

Leave a Reply

