It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Joining up with Jen from Teacher Mentor Texts to share what we’ve been reading in our household this past week.

Mom is reading:

I finished reading The Lions of Little Rock.  I’d read several rave reviews and wasn’t disappointed.  Wouldn’t it be wonderful to teach a whole classroom full of Marlees?

The book is set in Little Rock in 1959, at a time when young girls of different races could not be friends, and ignoring that rule was dangerous for everyone.  It’s a quick read, but a good one.

Next up is an adult novel, Caleb’s Crossing by Geraldine Brooks.  I haven’t even cracked this one yet.  Hoping to get it read over the next two weeks, but we’ve got two birthdays, Easter, and a baptism on the horizon, so that may be too optimistic.

Kiddo is reading:

Reading to Peanut by Leda Schubert, illustrated by Amanda Haley

This book had the potential to be really cute.  The story follows a girl’s quest to “learn to read and write” for a very special purpose revealed at the end.  Throughout the book, the little girl and her family members write/spell out words on signs and place them all throughout the house on the corresponding items (a great strategy, by the way).  Despite the cheerful illustrations and positive lesson about learning to read, this just didn’t keep our interest.  A swing and miss at our house.

 Silly Baby by Marie-Louise Fitzpatrick

I’m recommending this one for preparing very young children for the arrival of a new sibling.  I didn’t think the “silly baby” phrase repeated throughout the book quite corresponded with the examples (even though I understand what the author was trying to do), but the story does give a clear, concise understanding of what it means to have a new baby in the house.

Thump, Quack, Moo: A Whacky Adventure by Doreen Cronin, illustrated by Betsy Lewin

 This is the same team that brought us Click, Clack, Moo
(my personal favorite), Duck for President, and Giggle, Giggle, Quackamong so many others.  This was not my favorite read, especially by this author/illustrator team, but there’s nothing wrong with the story, either.  Just not my personal preference.

Mo’s Stinky Sweater by David Bedford, illustrated by Edward Eaves

Saving the best for last!  This book made it into our library bag because my daughter loves monkeys, and the cover grabbed her right away.  The bright illustrations continue throughout the pages, and any parent with a child who has become obsessed with wearing the same item of clothing day after day after day will appreciate the predicament Mo’s mother finds herself in. Consider this my “get thee this book” recommendation for the week.

That’s been our week. What are you reading?  Anything we should add to our library list for our next visit?

6 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

    • Like I said, I wasn’t disappointed. The protagonist is such a strong character, a good role model for young girls. Except, of course the way she outright disobeys her parents. My child doesn’t need any encouragement there 😉

  1. Did you read March by Geraldine Brooks? I thought that was great and I loved the premise of taking a known literary character and writing a back story to it. And so glad you are out there promoting Lions with me. I’m afraid it’s getting lost amidst the other great 2012 titles like Ivan and Wonder. What a great reading year so far, though! Your picture books look like such fun!

    • I haven’t! I picked this off the library shelves because I had seen a positive review somewhere. I had never heard of Geraldine Brooks or her Pulitzer for March until I got home and read more about her in the back cover. Caleb’s Crossing jumps right into the action, though, I’m hooked!

Leave a Reply

