It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Joining up with Jen from Teacher Mentor Texts to share what we’ve been reading in our household this past week.

Mom is reading:

Still reading Mark Zusak’s The Book Thief.  It’s still gripping, but my personal reading time has been limited this week, so I’m still not quite halfway.  I have to say, though, the man is a master at foreshadowing.  Which is, in part, what keeps me reading.  He’ll reference an upcoming event, but it may be another 50 pages (or more!) before that event comes to fruition.   Smart, Mr. Zusak, very smart.

 

Kiddo is reading:

Continuing with our Mo Willems theme, we read Elephant and Piggie’s Should I Share My Ice Cream?  The Elephant and Piggie series have a long “shelf life”.  The simple text is appropriate not only for read alouds with young children and short attention spans, but also for beginning readers who are just starting the process of reading to themselves.  And no matter what, Willems books always make me smile.

 

While at the library this week, Preschooler selected this one to read. I Don’t Want to Go to Schoolby Stephanie Blake would be a cute book to prepare a little one for his/her first school experience. I wasn’t overwhelmed by the illustrations, but the superhero style character would appeal to both boys and girls. And I could relate to the way Rabbit’s parents responded to the oft repeated refrain of “No way!”  Small kids at home, anyone?

 

I love, love,lovethis book. Ella Sarah Gets Dressed  by Margaret Chodos-Irvine is a must for any parent who is tempted to say “no” when your child wants to walk out of the house in a superhero costume, or princess gown, or Punky Brewster-style ensemble.  I don’t know what else to say about this.  If you haven’t read it– please do.

Karen Katz has long been one of my favorite authors for the baby/toddler set.  At almost 3, Preschooler is just about too old for Katz’s books (sob!).  BUT!  She loves to sing, so when I saw this on the library display, I scooped it up.  The illustrations are bright and cheerful.  The text includes some of the well-known verses to “The Wheels on the Bus”, but also has some new and original verses mixed in.  We actually sang this one at bedtime and I know it was a hit because I then heard Preschooler singing it to her babies after I had tucked her in and shut the door.

That’s been our week. What are you reading?  Anything we should add to our library list for our next visit?

6 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. We love Elephant and Piggie at out house! My son just went for his kindergarten screening on Saturday so I Don’t Want to go to School would be great for us! I love The Book Thief, too! An amazingly well-written book. So good and so haunting.

  2. I love the Elephant and Piggie books too, and thanks for the Ella Sarah book. It will be just right for my already making choices about her clothes granddaughter. What fun! And I too am so challenged with finding time to read. I loved The Book Thief. Read on; there are surprises in store. Thanks for telling about all that’s going on at your house!

Leave a Reply

