It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

In my quest to get back into blogging here, I’m joining up with Jen from Teacher Mentor Texts to share what we’ve been reading in our household this past week.  I have to say, though, that the other bloggers linked up are able to cover alot more material each week than I am, so if you’re really looking for recommendations, head on over there.

Mom is reading:

I just started Mark Zusak’s The Book Thief.   I’ve been reading and hearing about this title for a long time, but only recently have I been able to start reading for pleasure (thank you, Baby, for sleeping through the night!)  I can see what the fuss is about.  This book sucks you in from the very beginning, with it’s unique narrator, and from there it’s difficult to put down.  Even when you know that there’s a 4am feeding on the horizon, and that the Preschooler is feeling under the weather and is going to want extra attention in the morning, and there’s that doctor’s appointment that you made for 9am, and…and…and…. How’s that for a recommendation?

Kiddo is reading:

I’ve been a fan of Mo Willems since reading the original Knuffle Bunny.  However, that particular book (and the Knuffle Bunny books that followed) still go slightly above Preschooler’s head.  However, this one has become a bedtime favorite.  She likes the simple text because she can “read” it herself.  The flutter, flap, and zoom sounds don’t hurt either.  I’ve heard her read this one aloud to her stuffed animals after I’ve tucked her in and closed her door for the night.

This was my first introduction to Karma Wilson, but we’ll be back.  One of Preschooler’s favorite activities is when we visit the “aminals” at a nearby farm.  So this book, with its featured farm animals and wonderful repetition was an instant hit.

 

We had several children’s bibles in our house, but none that I really loved, until we recently received this one as a gift.  This is the first one I’ve found that’s truly appropriate for preschoolers.  The stories are extremely short and cover the basics.  The illustrations are bright and simple.  There are a couple stories missing that I might have included. But as far as writing to the audience… Juliet David does an amazing job.

In addition, we’ve been visiting some constant favorites like Clifford, Thomas and Friends, and Curious George.

That’s been our week. What are you reading?  Anything we should add to our library list for our next visit?

2 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. The Book Thief is amazing! I think the writing is excellent. I love how in your post it reads, This books sucks…you in from the beginning. I gasped for a second! I really enjoyed the illustrations in Cow Loves Cookies but after going vegan the book kind of weirded me out. I’m glad you have a local farm you can visit. (I say down with factory farming…) Thanks for sharing! My baby is 20 months old now but I remember the days of middle-of-the-night feedings and still having to love a toddler who wakes up early in the morning. Hang in there!

    • I can see how Cow Loves Cookies wouldn’t be for the vegan. That adds a whole other spin on the story. My older kiddo is almost 3 and just starting to verbalize text to real world connections. It’s fun to watch their brains work!

Leave a Reply

