Friday Confessions: Adult Swim

Welcome back to Friday and another confession!

(Maybe I should start by confessing that I’m tuning out the Toddler’s yakking from upstairs because she thinks she’s going to skip a nap today, and I think she’s got to be joking.)

But that’s not really what I came to confess, thought it IS somewhat related.

I’ve been turning a blind eye to the state of my house so that I can grab me-time (and my own book) instead.

That’s one just about anybody can relate to, right?

I usually blog about children’s books, and that’s what much of my reading time involves.  But then there’s the “adult swim” books.  The ones that are not meant to be shared with the Toddler, but are for me alone.  I used to read before bed, and sometimes still do, but lately I’ve been finding that I’m too tired by that point in the day.  So instead, I grab some me-time during naptime.  Lately, I’ve read Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen, and The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins.  At a recent trip to the library book sale, I also picked up several new-to me titles, including my current read A Girl Named Zippy by Haven Kimmel.

Next on the list? The Widow of the South by Robert Hicks.

When do you have “adult swim”?  What are you reading?  I can always add something new to my list.

It’s okay.  The laundry can wait.

2 thoughts on “Friday Confessions: Adult Swim

  1. If you’re into slightly heavier reading, “Come Back” by Claire and Mia Fontaine is a great book. It’s about a girl who gets caught in the drug scene and the lengths her parents are willing to go to get her back out.

    For lighter reading, I adore Sophie Kinsella. :oD

    • Hmmm, I’ll have to check out Come Back. And Sophie Kinsella is one of my favorite beach-read types. I just saw the other day that there was a new(er) Shopaholic book that I hadn’t read yet. Will be picking that up before vacation next month!

Leave a Reply

