Raising a Reader

I have the educational background.  I have the textbook learning, and the classroom experience.  I’ve taught everything from phonics programs, to guided reading, to learning how to take standardized tests.

But it’s most gratifying when I can take that information, apply it to my daily life as a stay-at-home-parent, and see the results.

Yesterday, I was feeling a little under the weather.  So I was doing what sick parents do when they have no choice other than to continue parenting…I was lounging on the floor of my daughter’s room and monitoring her play from my horizontal position.  She walked over to her bed, picked up her new Thomas the Tank Engine book, and announced, “Mama, read.”  So I prepared myself to put on my cheery reading voice, but she had other plans.  She settled herself on the floor next to me, opened the book, and read to me.

Okay, so it was garbled and mostly nonsensical, and I couldn’t exactly repeat the plot to you.  But there were key elements of early literacy present:

  • turning pages from front to back
  • changes in vocal inflections as she “read” the words on the page
  • using the images on the page to tell the story (demonstrated by inserting words she knew for certain images into the garble)

It makes me smile that books are among The Toddler’s favorite toys.  She keeps several at the end of her bed, and they are the first thing she plays with upon waking up in the morning, and the last thing she plays with before falling asleep at night.

So I guess I can say that I’m raising a reader.  Which is good.  Because I have a long list of books that she absolutely must read.

No pressure or anything.

2 thoughts on “Raising a Reader

Leave a Reply

