Friday Confession: Youth Revisited

Hello Friday friends.  How has your week been?  Ready for today’s confession?

After hearing the rumors for weeks, I almost bought the new Sweet Valley:Confidential book.

I have always been an avid reader.  By the time I was in later elementary school, this actually created a little bit of a problem.  I was reading several years above grade level, so the books that were on my reading level were not always developmentally appropriate.

When I was in fifth grade, my slightly uninformed grandparents sent me several Sweet Valley High books as a birthday gift.  My parents, after scanning the content, placed them away till a more age-appropriate time.  And then when that time came?  I devoured the series.  I loved Elizabeth, and Jessica, and Steven, and Todd, and Enid.  I loved the romance, and the scandal, and drama, and the teen angst.  Like many series books, the stories follow a predictable format, but that was okay.

So how thrilled was I when I started hearing about the publication of a NEW Sweet Valley books for adults?  Trailers promised the opportunity to connect with old friends, find out where they are now, and lots of not-so-teen angst.

Except the reviews?  They’re iffy.  And the spoilers I’ve seen tell me that the Wakefield twins and their friends didn’t make all the decisions I’d hoped they would.  It’s unfortunate that we can’t still read these novels with the same slightly blinded obsession we had in our youth.

And so my bank account is safe, though I haven’t ruled out possibly coming back to this one when I can buy it used (and cheap), or if it ever makes it to the library shelves.

But it begs the question: ever wonder where your favorite characters are now?  I’d also love to follow up on Nancy Drew.  Did she and Ned Nickerson (what is it with boyfriends named Ned?) ever settle down and have 2.5 kids?  Is she still busting crime in her accidental-on-purpose manner?

I’d like to think so.  Sometimes maybe it’s best we don’t know the outcome.

Leave a Reply

