Happy Birthday to Me (and a gift for you!)

Today marks another birthday for me.  It also, quite appropriately, happens to be International Children’s Book Day. From the International Board on Books for Young People website:

Since 1967, on or around Hans Christian Andersen’s birthday, 2 April, International Children’s Book Day (ICBD) is celebrated to inspire a love of reading and to call attention to children’s books.

So really, I was destined to be born on April 2nd, right?

I’ll be celebrating with family and friends this weekend, but you all are invited in on the fun, too.

In honor of my birthday and International Children’s Book Day, I have gift for you. I’m offering the chance to win your choice of one of the following two books.  Both these books are favorites of mine, and also happen to have been honored in a very important year:

Jumanji by Chris Van Allsburg (1982 Caldecott Honor Book)

or

Ramona Quimby, Age 8 by Beverly Cleary (1982 Newbery Honor Book)

I’m going to keep this super simple.  Leave a comment sharing your own favorite children’s book (can be classic or modern!).  That’s it!  Because I’ll be away from the computer for much of the weekend, I’ll leave comments open till 10:00pm EST on Sunday, April 3rd.  The winner will be announced on Monday.

Enjoy the party!

12 thoughts on “Happy Birthday to Me (and a gift for you!)

  1. Favorite picture book: “Corduroy”. Favorite kid’s novel (besides “Anne of Green Gables,” since we already discussed that, hehe): “Goodnight, Mr. Tom”

  2. This is my first time here, thanks for the gift! 😉 My favorite books were also “Anne of Green Gables.” I read them for mandatory reading over the summer in 6th grade and thought I had hit the jackpot! Happy Birthday!

  3. I love reading my son “I Love You Through and Through” by Bernadette Rossetti-Shustak. It is one of my most favorite books for this age because those are the three most important words every child needs to hear everday!

    My husband is fond of a bunch of Gold Key books we have from his childhood and often reads “The Color Kittens” by Margaret Wise Brown.

  4. I know your contest is over but I have been thinking about it and finally decided my favorite. There are so many great books to choose from but I Knew You Could! by Craig Dorfman and Christina Ong always lifts my spirits at the end of the day and is especially appreciated by those kids that love transportation.

Leave a Reply

