Friday Confession: Not Every One Is A Winner

Welcome back to Friday!  It’s a little cool to be considered spring-like today, but the sun is out, and I don’t have to wear a heavy winter coat and gloves, so I’m hopeful!  How has YOUR week been?

As usual, Friday’s are my day to ‘fess up, so here it is:

I don’t enjoy every book I read

If you take a little journey around the blog, it would seem that every book I read gets glowing reviews.  The truth is, not every book I pick up, whether it be an adult read or children’s literature, is my cup of tea.  Several times I’ve scanned the library catalog or shelves, picked up something that looked interesting, taken it home, and discovered that it was boring, had glaring errors, or contained a message that didn’t sit well with me.  Chances are, you won’t ever read about those books here.  If I don’t think it’s a winner, I don’t want to advertise it to the general public.  There are so many wonderful stories out there to share…why spend time discussing those that don’t quite make the cut?

Having said that, I have to ‘fess up to something else (it’s a two-for-one!):

I just may discard one of YOUR favorites

Every once in awhile, there’s a book that achieves incredible accolades among the powers-that-be in the literacy world.  So I read it.  And I just can’t get into it. An example?  Well sure, since you asked.

Over and over again, I’ve read interviews with adults who claim Maurice Sendak’s Where the Wild Things Are to be their most favorite children’s book ever. Me?  I recognize the talent in the story, but it’s just not up there on my top 10 list.  I much prefer Sendak’s talent as an illustrator, especially when viewing the Little Bear series by Else Holmelund Minarik, or A Very Special House by Ruth Krauss.

Another example?  Kate DiCamillo’s Because of Winn-Dixie.  I have likely read this book four or five times now, for various reasons. While a nice read, I prefer The Tale of Despereaux or The Magician’s Elephant. Yet these are not the DiCamillo novels that appear in literature classes or are immediately associated with her name.

All this to say, reading is a personal venture.  While book recommendations, reviews, and bestseller lists my guide our choices, our personal preferences come into play, too.  So I’ll keep following those reviews, picking up new reads, and giving them a try.

But if they don’t work for me?   I’m pretty sure something else out there will.

Leave a Reply

