Friday Confessions: A Week at the Movies

I’m pretty sure Friday was supposed to be here days ago.  Has this been a really long week for anyone else?  It seems like it has taken forever to get here, but it is FINALLY Friday, which means it’s time for another confession.

We spent ALOT of time with the television this week

Normally, I try to be very aware of how much screen time The Toddler is getting.  Neither my husband or I are big TV watchers, so a couple of years ago we cut back to the basic cable package.  Which pretty much means, if it’s not network television, we don’t get it. The only children’s television programming Mia knows comes from PBS Kids.  We also have a dvd collection of Disney and “retro” shows, such as Strawberry Shortcake and Fraggle Rock.

But I digress.

This week, between the toddler being sick and lethargic, and then myself being sick and lethargic, we spent alot of time on the couch or in the bed.  Which meant alot of Sesame Street, Curious George, and her new favorite, Charlotte’s Web (do you see the animal theme?  We could be watching National Geographic and she’d be thrilled).

So there you have it.  This week we were couch potatoes.  Sad, but true.

But I do wonder… Have you ever had the experience of seeing a movie that then led you to read the book?  I was teaching 4th grade when Disney released the movie Bridge to Terabithia in 2007.  Most of my students had never read the book, but as the movie release date came closer and after the movie came out, there was rush on the library to get their hands on copies.  The following year, I used the novel with one of my 5th grade reading groups.  Many of them were familiar with the story, having seen the movie, and we had some good discussions comparing the two.

So what do you think?  Can Hollywood encourage readers? I’d love to hear what you think!  Or feel free to chime in with a confession of your own.  There’s no judgment here..I’m too busy cleaning Saltine crumbs out of my bed.

2 thoughts on “Friday Confessions: A Week at the Movies

  1. That’s always a great question … and I’ve always wanted to read the book before I saw the movie, like Harry Potter. Haven’t seen the movie, just started book 1 with the 9YO.

    In thinking back though, I’ve found a couple of exceptions. The Thornbirds. Remember that mini-series? Saw it first, then went to get the book … and read it several times. More recently it was an on-demand showing of Ramona and Beezus. I was certain I’d read the book, but didn’t recognize 1 thing, so now we’re off to the library to get it.

    • As an adult example, I actually saw the movie Gone with the Wind before I read the book. I find both exceptional. When I was my daughter’s age, my “I don’t feel good” movie was The Many Adventures of Winnie-The-Pooh. We had it on VHS–remember when they came in the big, bulky white cases? Milne’s stories are a tad wordy for most 2-year-olds, so it wasn’t until later that I read the book, but we have both in our house now!

Leave a Reply

