A Story Begins

Novelist and columnist Anna Quindlen once said, “I would be most content if my children grew up to be the kind of people who think decorating consists mostly of building enough bookshelves.”

I like that.

Once upon my story, I taught reading and writing to fourth and fifth graders.  Many of my students came from under-privileged families.  Some read at a high school reading level, others barely managed early reader selections.  My experience reflects that of teachers all over the country, the good teachers, the ones working passionately to help their students succeed.

Today, I’m a stay-at-home mom who can proudly declare that one of my (not quite) two-year-old daughter’s favorites words is “ree!” (That’s “read” for those not fluent in toddler-speak).

So many of today’s parents feel intimidated by teaching their child to read.  Wanna know a secret?

It’s not as hard as you think.  And you don’t a special kit or a degree to be successful.  I promise.

Once Upon A Story strives to help parents and teachers guide their children along the road to literacy.  You’ll find book recommendations, teaching strategies, and fun ideas for incorporating literacy into your everyday lives.

As a teacher, I’m sharing my tools with you.   And as a mom, I’m learning with you.

I hope you’ll be back soon.

3 thoughts on “A Story Begins

    • Thanks, Susan. I’ve used Blogger for my personal family blog for years, but this is my first foray into WP. Totally different world, but so much more freedom. And I enjoy having the ability to use my own voice, which is much less formal than my previous platform allowed.

  1. Pingback: When Literacy is not ‘Reading’ (But it is!) | Once Upon A Story

Leave a Reply

